Home | Time | People | Place | Subject | Culture | Institution | myCollection
Home Search GetRecord Transport Collection

Search

Collection Summary

Collection Title
Transport Collection
Description
Vessels in the collection include the Spurn Lightship qv, a Humber Yawl, salmon coble, Humber Duster and the Arctic Corsair. They are all Hull or Humber based vessels, either working it or elsewhere; whenever possible the vessels are used in water.
The museum has examples of three types of small craft either unique to Hull or peculiar to Yorkshire: a Whitby Salmon Coble is one of the last of its kind to be built (1960); a Humber Gold Duster, the classic Humber waterman's boat and one of the last of its type (c.1930) and a Humber yawl (1894), built and designed by George Holmes for the Humber Yawl Club for recreational sailing on the Humber.
An important early piece is the figurehead of the paddle steamer, Sirius, the first vessel to cross the Atlantic, east to west, entirely under steam.

Format
Strength(s)
Largest side-winder trawler preserved in Britain. It is berthed behind Streetlife Museum in the River Hull and is open to the public as a guided tour at a small cost to cover future maintenance. The museum has examples of three types of small craft either unique to Hull or peculiar to Yorkshire: a Whitby Salmon Coble is one of the last of its kind to be built (1960); a Humber Gold Duster, the classic Humber waterman's boat and one of the last of its type (c.1930) and a Humber yawl (1894), built and designed by George Holmes for the Humber Yawl Club for recreational sailing on the Humber.
Date range of collection
-
Accumulation Dates
-
Suggested Audience
Not Specific
Associated People or Organisations
Associated Places
Associated Times

Location Details

Maritime Museum
Queen Victoria Square Hull HU1 3DX
Open Map
DOMUS
YH000133 
Email
museums@hullcc.gov.uk
Telephone
01482 613 902
Fax
01482 613 710 
Building Information
Built originally as the Dock Offices of the North Eastern Railway Co in 1867-71 by Christopher Wray.The 3 domed structure in a Venetian Renaissance style fitted a triangular site at the juction of Queens Dock, now Queens Gardens, and Princes Dock. A 9 bay convex front on to Queen's Gardens and flat elevations on the two other fronts. Grade 11* listed. Three storeys and three lanterns with a basement, faced in Ancaster stone with Bramley Fell stone from Hawksworth , Leeds and Portland stone for the details. Ground floor windows are round-headed ,separated by Ionic pilasters or half columns and Corinthian on the first floor. The west entrance front from Queen Victoria Square has a pediment at roof level with Neptune and Amphitrite by John Underwood. Domes topped by lanterns supported by dolphins. Cast iron railings with alternate trident and harpoon heads surround the building. Inside a spectaular stone staircase leads up to an even more spectacular Court Room, the Docks Offices board room, running through two floors and lined with red scagliola full and half columns and guilded cCorinthian capitals.
Collections Overview
These Designated collections have regional, national and international importance and were originally part of the general collections of the Hull Literary and Philosophical Society formed in 1823.The elements with more than local or regional significance are the collection of artefacts and documents relating to the Hull whaling trade, the archives of Humberside shipyards and the extensive collection of marine paintings. Together the photographs, paintings and ship plans are a comprehensive record of types of vessel built in the region or engaged in trade with Hull and its hinterland, the rest of Europe and the world at large. Christopher Pickering, JP the benefactor of the park and museum in 1912 , and Trawler owner also donated models of his trawler fleet. The core of the whaling collection was the donation of Charles Henry Wilson, 1st Lord Nunburnholme, originally displayed at Wilberforce house. The collections survived World War Two, but the documentation for the museums collections did not when Albion Street Museum was hit by incendaries in June 1943. Since 1975 the collections have been stored and displayed at the Maritime Museum. Scrimshaw, whaling, fishing, merchant shipping and 5 vessels comprising a vast number of associated objects, plans, drawings, models, specimens, posters, photographs, records and paintings make up the collection numbering over 15,000.
Display Overview
Displays include Arctic whaling, North Sea and deep-sea fishing, scrimshaw work, skeletons of major whale species, merchant shipping represented by ship models, paintings, drawings, plans, figureheads, instruments, nets, trawl doors and cut-away boats, binnacle and steering wheel and models of the docks and a re-created dock side. Acquired by Hull City Council in 1968 it was opened in 1975 as the Town Docks Museum and re-named the Maritime Museum in 1997.
Star Objects
paintings, CourtRoom, scrimshaw. Figurehead, a black dog, of the paddle steamer, Sirius, the first vessel to cross the Atlantic, east to west, entirely under steam.
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)

Site design by Orangeleaf Systems

This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. Your browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.