Home | Time | People | Place | Subject | Culture | Institution | myCollection
Home Search GetRecord Social History Collection

Search

Collection Summary

Collection Title
Social History Collection
Description
There is a small collection of ceramics in the folk art tradition including yellow glazed combed ware of c.1700; stoneware wine jars and Bellarmines; a Swansea ware jug commemorating the marriage of John and Sarah Hall at Awre in 1811 and decorated with a print of the tools used by John as a carpenter; a cider jug and mugs bearing the name of the Framilode Society of Watermen, a benefit society founded in the 1830s by Capt Charles Phillips Butler, a retired master mariner.

There are good collections of horn artefacts and treen.

There is a comprehensive collection of 19th and 20th century kitchen implements including a later 18th century Swinton patent range and all the equipment associated with the preparation and cooking of food. There is also a good collection of implements of 19th and 20th century cleaning implements including a knife cleaning machine by Follows and Bate; a Fleetway carpet sweeper of the 1870s; and a series of early powered suction cleaners.

Laundering is represented by a series of early washing machines and mangles, such as an 1850s Bell Washer, made mostly of wood, in which the clothes were agitated by moving the beater backwards and forwards in the tub. There is a linen press and a group of early irons, including a tailor's goose for pressing tailored seams; and an iron stove made by Smith and Wellstood in the 1880s.

There are crusie oil lamps of 17th and 18th century date, and candlesticks, candle boxes, snuffers, etc.

The collection includes tradition board games, puzzles and card games, including jigsaw puzzles made by the Wallis family shortly after the first puzzles of the 1760's; a range of toys and a Steiff teddy bear of c.1900; and dolls and furnished dolls houses.

Crafts are represented by wheelwright's shop reconstructed largely from that of Mr C Cheese of Tirley with an unusual box lathe; a blacksmith's shop with the large collection of tools and fittings from smithies at Tetbury, Cainscross, Upton Bishop and Shipton Oliffe; and tinsmith's tools.

The basket-maker's craft is also well represented with tools, materials and products; also the hurdle-maker; and the cobbler. Items from leather working crafts such as those of currier and saddler are present in the collection.

There are the city weights and measures, and other measuring equipment including a Benjamin Cole senior waywiser of c.1750.
Format
Strength(s)
The horn collection includes items made by G J Humpherson and Sons, Llanthony Road, Gloucester in the 1920s. The firm moved from Bewdley to Gloucester in 1912. It was later known as the Abbey Horn Works. It was moved to Kendal in 1940, where it is today known as Abbey Horn. The museum has many items collected by Oliver Wild of Cheltenham in the 1930s including engraved beakers; brushes; buckles; button hooks; combs; cruets; drenching, ornamental, powder and sounding horns; napkin rings; paper knives; shoe horns; and spoons. The treen collection in the museum is strong, including common items such as spice boxes, pudding stirrers, rolling pins, etc, but also contains many more elaborate items such as medicine chests, drinks cabinets, wassail bowls, a dentist's spittoon and a bobbin winder. Notable individual pieces are an egg platter, mether, decorated spice box all of 17th century date; a cheese follower, William IV; and a coopered jug of 19th century date.
Date range of collection
-
Accumulation Dates
-
Suggested Audience
Not Specific
Associated People or Organisations
Associated Places
Associated Times
This collection is about

Location Details

Gloucester Folk Museum
99-103 Westgate Street Gloucester GL1 2PG
Open Map
DOMUS
SW000066 
Website
Email
christopherm@glos-city.gov.uk
Telephone
01452 526 467
Fax
01452 330495 
Building Information
Gloucester Folk Museum is housed in a splendid range of Tudor and Jacobean timber framed buildings, a merchant's house of c.1500 and a town house of c.1650, along with new buildings housing the dairy, ironmonger's shop, wheelwright and carpenter's shops. The museum buildings complex includes buildings which are grade II* and grade II listed buildings. John Hooper, bishop of Worcester and Gloucester, is said to have lodged here the night before he was burned at the stake in St Mary's Square in 1555 for his protestant beliefs. The buildings are also linked to the making of brass pins by hand, done on the second floor of numbers 99-101 by 1743. A workshop attached to number 99 and with a foundation stone of 1512, also seems to have been converted for pinmaking.
Collections Overview
The collections cover the social history, crafts, trades and industries of Gloucester and Gloucestershire, showing how people lived and worked from c.1500 to the present.
Display Overview
The displays include local history, such as the Siege of Gloucester, Port of Gloucester, Severn fishing, farming and folklore; domestic life; crafts and industries; toys, games and pastimes; glass and ceramics; treen; balances, weights and measures.
Star Objects
Victorian classroom; artefacts from the Siege of Gloucester in 1643.
For details of other collections held at the same location: See the location record

Additional Collection Information

Related Publications
Management Information (Type)
Collection Owner(s)
Collection Creator(s)
Collection Collector(s)
Collection Custodians(s)
Associated Collection(s)

Site design by Orangeleaf Systems

This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. Your browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.