Home | Time | People | Place | Subject | Culture | Institution | myCollection
Home Search Institutions Ramsey Rural Museum


Ramsey Rural Museum
The Woodyard
Wood Lane

PE17 1XE
Telephone: 01487 814 304
Email: d.yardley@talk21.com

Show Map

Overview of collections

The collections include a wide range of agricultural implements, tools and machinery mainly used or made locally, tools and other items relating to local crafts and trades, village and community life, domestic life, schooling and memorabilia from World War II. There is a family history archive which contains photographs, copies of the census returns, maps land deeds etc.

Overview of how collections are displayed

The museum, which is run by volunteers, is set in a group of 17th century farm buildings with open views of the countryside. The displays are arranged thematically and as well as the displays of farm carts, barn machinery and cultivation equipment shown in the barns and cart sheds, there are reconstructions of a schoolroom, a Fenland kitchen and washroom, a village shop ('The Ramsey Stores'), a chemist's shop, cobbler's and blacksmith's, and a Victorian bedroom and parlour. A number of special event days and demonstrations are held during the year, and there is a small shop and cafe.

Star Objects at this location

Huntingdonshire Barge Wagon, built locally in Warboys in about 1911 and
used on a farm in Ramsey from then until donated to the Museum in 1987.
Rutland Wagon used on 'Ponderosa Farm' in Ramsey and donated in 1985
Catchpole Sugar Beet Lifter - this was manufactured locally in the 1940s
and is one of only two or three in Country.
Wooden Plough dating from the early 19th Century or perhaps earlier.
Water Cart used by Ramsey Urban District Council in Ramsey which is
remembered by many of the older inhabitants on the Town.
Turkey Neck Stretcher - this is a source of great delight to the children
who visit who find the thought of it being used for killing poultry particularly gruesome.
Chemists Shop. A complete Chemist shop from Millfield in Peterborough
complete with glass bottles, mortar & pestles, and everything associated
with such a shop.
Cobblers Shop. A complete shop from Chatteris.
Graffitti. Of paricular interest is the graffitti on the barn walls which
dates from 1817 and shows not only the names of the people who carved it but
also illustrations of the farm, animals, implements and farm-house. Many of
families are still in the district
Collection Descriptions
Local and Social History (Ramsey Rural Museum)
-The social history collections reflect the changes in the social and domestic life of the people of the local area. ...

Site design by Orangeleaf Systems

This site is designed so that its contents are accessible to every type of browser. Your browser, however, may not support basic Web standards, preventing the display of our site's design details. You are encouraged to upgrade to a more standards compliant browser.